Thursday, December 18, 2008

December 20, 2008


the master baththe view from our bedroom

our bedroom
the stairwell down to the second floor with our stockings
the patio
the living room
the dining room with our christmas tree
the sunrise at East Cape before we moved into our house
us at East Cape in the rain seeing the sunrise
the boys at the lighthouse at East Cape waiting for the sunrise


Well, we've gotten settled in. Bought our christmas tree, decorated stockings, bought bikes, bought surfboards, bought a boogieboard, and now all we do is hang around and do activities and we're loving it. We've made friends with the guys two doors down, Matt, and his sister Jes, and her boyfriend Rick. Matt conveniently works at the sruf shop down the street also, so the boys are getting huge discounts and hanging out there all the time. Matt's a funny kid. Super ADD, but a lot of fun. He spins at a couple bars in Tauranga, so last Friday we went out to the bar where he was DJing and had a realy nice time walking around and hitting up some bars. 
I've started looking for jobs. Went to the schools, but we are getting into Christmas and New Year's weeks, so things are a bit slow in regards to hiring at schools. But I did go to some temp agencies. And I have been put on a list for next hires at the fish cannery and that could start as early as next week. I'm super excited and I know that's weird. But I think it would be so different and so cool. 
I also went to a couple cafes around the corner from the house yesterday that have barista wanted signs. One guy kinda blew me off. The other woman threw me behind the bar. and I freaked..I was so disappointed in myself. But I partly claim it wasn't my fault. The chef said "make me a double no foam latte." Done. No problem..I can do that in my sleep. But then the girl who was working there started talking me through it and not just letting me do it. And she set me up for two completely different drinks instead of the one drink I was told, so I got all confused and didn't do a very good job of making it. But my one proud moment was when I steamed the milk without a thermometer and the girl said "oh, we have to use the measure to make sure it's right." and I said "ok. I'm used to doing it by touch." And when she stuck it in the milk it had to go to "70" and it went straight there. So I mentally stuck my tongue out at her. Anyway, there's new ownership coming around next week and I sat and chatted the current owner up for a good 20 minutes and we had a really nice talk, so hopefully that saved me. But I don't think she was convinced when I told her that "yes, we do have espresso machines in the US" Oh well..I'll go round next week and see what happens. 
We have a couple friends coming down on Monday and they'll stay through christmas and we're super excited to have company! 
Anyway, I don't have much to add other than that. I'll keep you posted on jobs and such, but mostly now we're just being beach bums and bicycle fiends and we love it! :)
xoxo
Alissa 

3 Comments:

Blogger Unknown said...

The place looks awesome. Can't wait to come visit you guys! Sounds like a wonderful life and I'm looking forward to living a week of it =)

Love you guys. Enjoy your Christmas in Paradise!!

KB

Friday, December 19, 2008  
Blogger SheckerGirl said...

Ah, finally, another post! The apartment looks awesome - and what a view! As soon as I win the lottery I'll holler about visiting :( I would give anything to come see you guys out there!!!
- Daphne

Saturday, December 20, 2008  
Blogger Mom said...

Wow! And it is SO CLEAN! Sounds like a perfect life. It is so wonderful how many friends you have made already. That makes it more fun, not just tourism, but actually getting to know the people who live there and work there. Live it up! See you in March!

Sunday, December 21, 2008  

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home